Shower Time!

My (and Little Man’s) baby shower was on Saturday. It was hosted by my amazing best friend, Sarah, and had a (loose) English Tea theme. I say loose because there ended up being no hot tea served. Instead, everyone but me got a bit saucy on white wine! But there were lots of scones, cucumber sandwiches, and other staples all needed for proper high tea. And, really, what more can one ask for at nine months pregnant than lots of snacks?!

When Jesse and I got married we had to plan everything in such a short amount of time…I was determined to fit into the wedding dress I had bought in August when I was a size 2…that we didn’t have time to have a wedding shower. Ironically, the baby shower was held the day before our original wedding date!  Sometimes no matter what your plans are, regardless of how specific and well organized they are, if The Man Upstairs has a different idea for your life’s path you better just hold on for the ride. If you had told me nine moths ago that instead of getting married on March 10th I would be having a baby shower I probably would have laughed at you. Now, I wouldn’t change a single thing; happily married for (almost) three months and three weeks away from being a mommy. The proof is in the pudding…He always knows what’s best for you and the turns your life will take.

Before the shower I was concerned that I was going to have to go on a major shopping spree in order for Little Man to have a suitable wardrobe. The ladies in my life know me well. He is going to be one of the most stylish infants out there (watch out Mason Disick), he even has a blanket and hat to match almost every outfit he’s got. Not saying I don’t think he needs more clothes, I mean, this is ME we’re talking about. There’s always a need for more clothes. But I’m trying to be practical and I realize that if I buy him many more he’ll probably never be able to wear them as he will have grown out of them before I have time to put them on him. 

It was such a great day spent with some amazing ladies. We all had so much fun oohing and ahhing over the many adorable baby gifts and laughing about all the embarrassing moments that pregnancy and beyond forces you to deal with. It was such a blast listening to the stories of labor, and I no longer feel alone in the “My insides have become a punching bag” department. The gifts were all wonderful and, of course, adorable (and useful!) but the best part of the day was spending time with all the ladies in my life who are there for love and support.

Leave it to Southern women to throw parties…they always do it right. Heck, Momma and her best friend are already planning the christening luncheon….

Leave a Reply

