32 Weeks

Good news and bad news this week.  I feel like I say this constantly but, this third trimester is a real doozy!  I suppose this is what I get for having such an easy first and second trimester but I am at my wits end.  Not only with feeling poorly but also with worry about Little Man.  But to the good news first….the nursery is really starting to come together!  After changing my mind about 15 times I finally decided to go with a “Forest Friends” theme for Little Man’s room.  Before that it was safari, puppies, preppy, Harry Potter, etc., etc.  It was hard to make up my mind, but once we got the bedding everything else started to fall into place.  It’s far from done but it’s coming along really well!  The rocker/recliner is being delivered on Wednesday (Oh My Gosh is this thing comfy!!), and the reading corner needs to be set up, and of course the organization of clothes, accessories, and blankets is an ongoing process.  To me though, it’s looking great!  Sometimes I just like to sit in there.  I know that’s weird, but it makes me happy…

And I could definitely use some happiness today!  Yesterday was my 32 week doctors appointment, and it did not go well.  My iron levels have only come up one point (from a 7 to an 8, normal is above a 10) and I’m measuring small for how far along I am.  Because my hemoglobin levels are so low the doctor is concerned that Little Man may not be getting the amount of oxygen he needs in order to be developing on track.  That may be the worst thing anyone has ever told me.  I didn’t sleep at all last night, and I’ve practically made myself sick worrying.  I have an ultrasound appointment on the 21st (how am I going to make it through the next 10 days???) to find out his size and to check that everything is on track.

I’m doing everything I can to ensure I’m getting all the iron I possibly can; including drinking a giant glass of OJ with my pills.  Oh the heartburn!!!  I literally feel like dog poop for at least an hour after I take the pills, but if it helps I’m willing to do anything.  The Dr. mentioned that if my hemoglobin levels don’t come up significantly by my next appointment we need to talk about the possibility of having to have iron injections and going on bed rest.  I’ll do whatever it take to make sure he’s healthy, and I’m praying harder than I ever have before.  Hubby is doing his best to support me and not show his own worry.  For now, I’ll keep praying and try not to imagine all the things that could go wrong.  

Please keep all three of us in your thoughts!!  If you’ve ever been through anything similar please feel free to share your story!  It would be big help to know we’re not the only ones going through this!!!!

Leave a Reply

